Czech This out, Everyone!

If anything truly shows the gravity of my ten-month absense from the world of blogging, it must be the fact that I’ve only just come across my first (and, so far, my last) encounter with a Slavic language: a paragraph in Czech which I remember being rather keen to show off on here. The story in a nutshell: last summer I asked my pen pal Kristýna from Olomouc to write a short and simple letter to me in her native tongue, thus challenging me to reply in a language I’d never worked with before. It was not until I received her letter that I began to realise how much of a pickle I’d got myself in.

Olomouc

I guess declining Czech adjectives works out cheaper than a trip to Olomouc… (Source: Palacký University)

Alright, conjugation wasn’t too hard to get my head around, but I must admit declension proved to be much worse than I’d expected it to be. As Wikipedia kindly informs us, “Czech has seven cases: nominative, genitive, dative, accusative, vocative, locative and instrumental. This essentially means that a word can have 14 possible forms in singular and plural.” And on top of all this, Czech has three grammatical genders. The concepts of declension and the case system had already been familar to me from Hungarian, which happens to be an agglutinative language. But combining all this with gender seemed a bit too much to me, despite having had considerable practice with this kind of stuff when studying Modern Greek grammar. Anyway, here’s the letter I received:

Ahoj! Jak se máš? V Česku právě začaly prázdniny. Já a moje rodina poletíme v sobotu do Řecka. Já se moc těším. Užij si prázdniny! Hodně štěstí s českým jazykem. Čau!

“Hello! How are you? The holidays have just started in the Czech Republic. My family and I will fly to Greece on Saturday. I’m really looking forward to it. Enjoy the holidays! And good luck with the Czech language. Bye!”

And after about a week of diving into Czech grammar and sweating blood trying to construct a handful of basic sentences, my reply followed:

Ahoj Kristýna! Mám se dobře, děkuju. Řecko je krásná země a Řekové jsou velmi milí lidé! Moje rodina přišla z Řecka, proto strašně se mi líbí jazyk a kultura. Čeština je velmi těžky jazyk! Je to skoro tak těžké, jako maďarština. Užij si prázdniny!

“Hi Kristýna! I’m fine, thank you. Greece is a beautiful country and Greek people are very friendly. My family came from Greece so I’m obsessed with the language and the culture. Czech is a very difficult language! It’s almost as difficult as Hungarian. Enjoy your holiday!”

Well, Kristýna congratulated me on my effort and claimed that my paragraph appeared to have been written by a native speaker. Yet for some reason I doubt that a thorough search on the internet could provide me with an inexplicable divine power to eliminate all little mistakes in written Czech. Feel free to point them out one by one!

2 thoughts on “Czech This out, Everyone!

  1. Hi, I had the privilege of going to the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Budapest last October. I really like the sounds of the Czech and Slovak language – I bought a compilation CD of Czech pop hits – and also Polish sounded a lot smoother than you would think looking at all its consonants!

  2. Pingback: Greek in a Week – How I Reached the ‘Toddler Stage’ | I wish to be a polyglot!

Leave a Reply

