Best of 2013 – The 15 Most Popular Articles of the Year

First of all, I wish you all a New Year that brings luck and prosperity, fills your home with joy and spirit, and gives you new confidence and courage for a fresh start. Let me re-introduce the 15 most visited posts of 2013 on ‘I wish to be a polyglot!’. It seems to be quite a diverse list of articles, which encourages me to continue exploring a wide range of topic areas in the New Year. With over 5000 views and 120 comments, my blog has become my proudest achievement of 2013 – besides my GCSE results, of course. I would like to thank you all for being kind enough to sacrifice some time and have a quick look at the stuff that go through my mind. Oddly enough, your comments indicate that some of you even consider my articles ‘interesting’ – special thanks for that! A propos, I am aware of the issue with the comments and promise to answer them all as soon as possible.

So, let’s have a look at the Top 15 of they year 2013! Believe me, some of them have managed to acquire quite a surprising position.

      1. Mansaray: “Being a polyglot is a lifestyle choice”
        A brief interpretation of David Mansaray’s views on wanting to become a polyglot. I’m sure you’ve heard of him – if not, you should have!
      1. “Oι Γκρίκοι”, the Grecanici of Southern Italy
        A dialect of Greek in Southern Italy? Yes! Despite over 2000 years of Italian influence,  the Griko people have managed to keep their language alive. To further add to this phenomenon, Griko is almost mututally intelligible with Modern Greek!
      1. But seriously, what does the fox say?
        In this post I address the “ancient mystery” that Ylvis has drawn our attention to in their 2013 viral hit, ‘The Fox’. Why is there no onomatopoeia for the bark of the fox, seriously?
      1. Learning the Hungarian Runic script
        I can tell you that a lot of effort has been put into the writing of this article. Mainly because I learned the Hungarian Rovás script itself simultaneously, and foreign alphabets often take ages to get used to. If you’ve ever considered having a look at this unique script, please skim through my article – or else you may be fooled by the internet!
      1. My first attempt at handwritten Georgian
        Erm… sorry about this one, it was clearly my first ever attempt! Since then I have found a good-quality guide that tells me where to begin each letter and how to form it in the cursive script. I’ll do an update on this one as soon as I can!
      1. English from right to left
        My friends were so amazed when they saw me making notes using my own adaptation of Da Vinci’s mirror-writing. There’s a little surprise at the end of this post, so please have a look!
DSC_0258

I know, I’ll have to put “growing up” on my list of New Year’s resolutions!

      1. Alex Rawlings, Europe’s human phrasebook
        The successful British polyglot Alex Rawlings – who is responsible for inspiring me to continue learning languages and to create this blog – was surprisingly the first one to leave a comment. So I couldn’t resist writing a little article about him and his incredible achievements.
      1. Simple, fluent, elegant – Introducing an alternative writing system
        My tribute to a constructed script named ‘Tciaar’ from Omniglot, which fascinates me some much that I have even adapted it to suit the phonology of my own conlanging project, Neo-Ugric (more about this soon!)
      1. Verbal profanity around the world
        There is an ongoing discussion below the article, which is definitely worth a look! Which language has the widest vocabulary of swear words? Are there any languages that have none at all? Let’s find out!
      1. Can you guess the language?
        This one is rather simple: 5 audio recordings, each in a foreign language. Can you guess what the languages are? Don’t read the answers below the post – unless you wish to ruin the game for yourself!
      1. More about Lingua Franca Nova
        Everything you need to know about the world’s simplest constructed language – well, that’s my opinion, but thousands of LFN-users agree with me, so have a look and make your own judgement!
LFN1

My translation of a humorous New Year’s Eve comic strip to Lingua Franca Nova. Well done, Bálint!

      1. How specific are you? – Kinship terminology across cultures
        One of my most detailed and successful articles so far. It took me a week to put this together, so even if you haven’t clicked on any of the above links, please read through this one! I can almost guarantee you’ll learn something you’ve always been wondering about.
      1. Afrikaans, or South Africa’s Dutch?
        How much do you know about Afrikaans, one of South Africa’s 11 national languages? Some say it’s just a dialect of European Dutch… but is it, or is it not?
      1. አማርኛ ፊደል, or the ‘Amharic Fidel’
        This has granted me nearly 70 views from the lovely Ethiopia, which makes me very proud, honestly! Don’t you dare leave my blog before you find out how ባሊነተ should be read. Alright, I’m just joking, but I would still be glad if you did!
    1. My adventures in 10 languages
      And here’s the winner! Similarly to No. 4, this one also too me a week to write. Or more? I don’t remember. But I do remember that writing in 10 different languages (most of which I don’t even speak) made me want to cry several times. But, with your helpful corrections, it seems to have paid off!

Thank you for everything again! I hope that the New Year will be less busy, thus allowing me to publish articles on a bit more regular basis. As I’ve promised before, a series of articles is about to appear on ‘I wish to be a polyglot!’. Don’t miss it! Please.

Leave a Reply

