Can you guess the language?

Although I have never written an article in this style, today I will attempt to create a little quiz for you. I have prepared a selection of five languages, which I will present in the form of an audio sample. The task is easy: guess the language!

The recordings are from RhinoSpike.com, so I will link to the environment in which they originally appear as soon as I can reveal the answers. So here is the deal: I give you three days and you guess the five languages – or as many as you can – in a comment. Let the game begin!

Sample 1

Sample 2

Sample 3

Sample 4

Sample 5

10 thoughts on “Can you guess the language?

  1. I may be totally wrong here, but I have a feeling that the first one is Afrikaans. Number 2 has to be Irish Gaelic! Number 4 is an interesting one – it sounds very much like Italian but with the occasional hint of Spanish. I can’t quite figure out what it is! Number 5 must be related to Spanish, but my knowledge of the language is limited. I feel like Spanish is too obvious. Perhaps Portuguese or Catalan? I am not sure at all about any of the others. I know I don’t speak any of these languages, so my apologies if I am completely wrong!

  2. I agree on #2 – it almost sounds like Benny (of “Fluent in Three Months”) if I had to actually pick a speaker…

    #4 sounds like Latin, if only from some of the endings.

    Is #5 Basque?

  3. Number 2 must be Gaelic. Number 4 is Interlingua and Number 5 must be Basque. Number 1 makes me think at Swedish. I would guess Tagalog for the 3rd one.

  4. Congratulations everybody! Here are the answers:

    Sample 1 – SWEDISH
    Sample 2 – GAELIC
    Sample 3 – TAGALOG
    Sample 4 – INTERLINGUA
    Sample 5 – BASQUE

    Olivier, well done, all your answers were correct! I may repeat this activity in the future… with languages that are harder to recognise! Again, all samples are from http://rhinospike.com and have nothing to do with me.

    P.S. It is very likely that the Gaelic sample “almost sounds like Benny”, as it is him!

  5. # 1 sounds like a scandinavian tongue, icelandic perhaps?
    #2 is a conlang spoken by a person with a strong american accent.
    # 3 is a Philippine language, tagalog being my guess.
    # 4 is Latin sine flexione?
    # 5 is Basque.

    • What a coincidence! I was introduced to this website yesterday, by a Hungarian-language article – and I was quite fascinated by it. In my first attempt I only acquired 750 points so it would be totally acceptable for me to hate this game, however I recommend it to everybody who claims to “have an ear” for languages! (Or two, if they’re lucky enough…) Thank you for sharing it!

  6. I know I’m late, but I’m going to write my guesses anyway (and I promise I didn’t look at the other comments before guessing!)

    #1 is Swedish (or something similar).
    #2 is Irish (not Gaelic, they don’t like it being called that. I speak a bit of Scottish Gàidhlig, so this took me about 2-3 seconds).
    #3 is Filipino
    #4 sounds Romance, but I’m not sure, so Esperanto or Interlingua or something?
    #5 is Basque.

    Just out of curiosity, is #2 a clip of Manchán Magan, by any chance?

    Oh, and I have to admit that apart from #2, most of my guesses came from listening for words I recognised and relating them to location/country as much as listening to the language itself.

  7. Pingback: Dear Santa Claus, Baby Jesus, Yule Goat… Christmas Log? | I wish to be a polyglot!

  8. Pingback: Best of 2013 – The 15 most popular articles of the year | I wish to be a polyglot!

Leave a Reply

