My first attempt at handwritten Georgian

Yesterday I made my first ever attempt at using the Georgian writing system on paper. Despite my ability to read the letters, I have never thought about trying out the handwritten version of the alphabet before. I know, any Georgian who could be considered literate would bravely enunciate that the scribbles below are impossible to read and that by calling them Georgian I am dishonouring their culture… that was a slight overstatement, but at least you get the message. Now, Georgian – just like most other languages with a unique writing system – has its own letter forms (script) for a so called ‘cursive’ writing. Similarly to how some Europeans join their graphemes and how Mandarin has dozens of different handwritten scripts, Georgian-speakers have also developed a way of writing their letters on paper. To conclude, this is something I haven’t done at this stage. All I did was opening the Civil.ge website and copying the first two paragraphs of an article, using my own strategy of writing the letters by hand.

Image

7 thoughts on “My first attempt at handwritten Georgian

  1. Pingback: What’s behind the ISA sign? | I wish to be a polyglot!

  2. This is a great start, but it looks like it was copied from print. Several Georgian characters look substantially different when handwritten. For instance, the Georgian J, which usually looks like an X when printed (there are two in the last line there), looks a lot more like a J when handwritten. You can see this form on the Borjomi mineral water logo: http://marketer.ge/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/LOGO-New-sm.jpg (the fourth letter is a J). The difference caused me quite a bit of aggravation when I first got to Georgia.

    • Thank you! As I have explained in the paragraph above the image, I have no knowledge of the ‘cursive style’ of the alphabet, and have therefore copied the text without modifying the letter forms. I agree that the difference can be very confusing (as there are much more than two fonts and styles in use!), especially for me who has to spend a minute on each word. Again, thank you for your observation – and the perfect example!

  3. :)) Looks cute, ყველაზე მონდომებულად “წ”-ს წერს.

  4. Pingback: Best of 2013 – The 15 most popular articles of the year | I wish to be a polyglot!

  5. Pingback: My name in 43 scripts – Exploring the world’s writing systems: Level 1 | I wish to be a polyglot!

Leave a Reply

